Recently Found on Twitter

I wanted to title this post “Found on Twitter this Week” but I actually started writing it a few weeks ago… the information isn’t stale – at least I hope not. When I first started tweeting and following other Tweeters last year, I found myself looking at updates several times a day. Then I realized that I was tweeting and retweeting and reading articles that were linked to a tweet so much that I couldn’t get any of my “real work” done. It was so much good info… I naively thought that I could keep up and write a weekly post on what I’d found on Twitter. Ha ha ha! Reality set in and now I check daily but I limit myself to just a few tweets, retweets and everything else, I send myself an email to look at it later when I have an hour just for reviewing what I’ve found. So now that I have some time to review what I’ve found recently, I thought it would be selfish of me to keep it all to myself… especially for those of you who don’t follow Twitter …

** I saw a press release announcing the new edition of Michael Arkfeld’s book Electronic Discovery and Evidence

** Cloud computing is becoming more acceptable and mainstream in the business IT world. This article provides some key points that I believe future law suits and conflicts or issues with evidence stored in the cloud. The following quote is from the section that addresses e-discovery:

Considering that multiple copies of data may be created, stored, recompiled, dispersed, reassembled, and reused, determining what constitutes a “record” or a “document” for discovery purposes may be difficult to achieve in the cloud.

There is a “part 2” to this article which I also recommend. It includes useful checklists for corporate legal teams to address before entering into a cloud computing contract.

** In an article about controlling e-discovery costs, I found a popular e-discovery truth to actually be more of an urban legend or myth: cases don’t settle because the e-discovery costs are too high. Wow! Earth shattering news! Here’s the quote:

In my experience with commercial litigation, while e-discovery costs can be substantial, a case will rarely settle simply to avoid discovery costs when the amount in controversy exceeds it by several orders of magnitude. Even in smaller cases – like disputes with former employees – the cost of discovery driven by notice pleading is unlikely to force settlement because trial courts will grant relief from overly broad discovery requests.

This is why e-discovery project management is sooo vital an element to the case.  EDPMs have metrics available and can provide attorneys with the necessary information to make the strategic decisions early in the matter in order to avoid lopsided costs and spending.

** Another article I found thanks to twitter on this topic is geared towards attorneys:  “ 8 Things to Help Contain the Cost & Risk of Litigation”

** I’m a regular reader on PM Student’s blog. Do you wish you had at least 15 more hours every week to devote to your life outside of work?

Perhaps I’ll make it a point to clear out my inbox next week and share some of the other interesting things I’ve found lately on Twitter. In the meantime, you don’t have to have a Twitter account to view my tweets at twitter.com/lsptrainer.

About lstrainer

I've been in the litigation support industry for almost 16 years and have a passion for training. Teaching litigation support professionals how to fish for themselves is my primary objective.

Leave a Reply

